National Cuisines of Kyrgyzstan
rufr
Gallery of Recipes

MANTY

There is, apparently, some dispute as to the origin of Manty – Turkish, Tartar, or ... somewhere in Central Asia. Manty are small, steamed, dumplings with a meat filling. Although manty are traditionally steamed – some recipes suggest boiling them, as with ravioli, but this is how a different dish – pelmeni – is prepared. There is also a version of "baked manty".  

A mantyshnitza (steamer) is a special pan for cooking manty. It is like a multi-tiered saucepan in which water is poured into the bottom pan, and the other tiers have holes in the bottom through which the steam rises. They fit one on top of the other and placed over the boiling water – with a lid on the pan which comprises the top tier.   

Ingredients: 1 kg of flour; 1 egg; 2 bulbs of garlic; 200 grams of fat; 2 big onions; 1 kg beef or mutton finely chopped or minced; (Pumpkin or potatoes may be added or substituted for meat); ½ teaspoon red pepper; ½ teaspoon black pepper; salt.


Method:

1. Mix the flour, egg, and 2 cups of hot water with one-teaspoon of salt to make the dough.  Knead until soft. Leave it to stand, covered with a large bowl, for 30 minutes. 

2. Cut the fat into small piece and add to the finely chopped meat.  Cut the onions and garlic into small pieces and add to meat mixture. Add peppers. Dissolve 1-tablespoon salt into 2 cups warm water and stir into mixture.   

3. Divide the dough into four equal pieces. Roll the dough out onto floured board or table until the dough is thin but won’t break. Cut it into strips, about 10 cm in width. Cut the strips to make squares, about 10cm square. Place one tablespoon of meat mixture on each square.  Bring up two diagonal corners of the dough and press them together on top – do the same with the other two corners.  Bring two corners next to each other on the sides and press them together. Do the same with the remaining two corners.

4. Oil the trays of the steamer. Place the prepared manty onto the steaming trays so that they don’t touch each other (they will stick together if placed too close). Steam for 40 to 50 minutes.   

Prepared manty can then be either baked, or fried. Serve with vinegar.

Национальные кухни Кыргызстана
enfr
Галерея рецептов

МАНТЫ

По поводу происхождения мант все еще ведутся споры – турецкое ли это блюдо, татарское ли, либо появилось где-то в Центральной Азии. Манты представляют собой небольшие паровые клецки с мясной начинкой. Немотря на то, что манты традиционно готовятся на пару, некоторые рецепты предлагают их отваривать – но таким образом готовится другое блюдо, пельмени. Также существует вариант “печеных” мант.
“Мантышница” (пароварка) – это особая посуда для приготовления мант. Она похожа на набор из кастрюли и нескольких лотков. Вода наливается в кастрюлю, на которую сверху ставятся лотки с отверстиями в дне, сквозь которые проходит пар. Лотки помещаются друг на друга и все вместе водружаются над кипящей водой, самый верхний из них накрывается крышкой.

Ингредиенты: 1 кг муки; 1 яйцо; 2 головки чеснока; 200 г жира; 2 большие луковицы; 1 кг говяжего или бараньего фарша; пол-чайной ложки красного молотого перца; пол-чайной ложки черного молотого перца; соль по вкусу. По желанию, в фарш можно добавить тыкву и / или картофель, или же полностью заменить ими мясо.

Приготовление:

Смажьте маслом лотки пароварки.

1. Смешайте муку, яйцо, 2 чашки горячей воды и 1 чайную ложку соли, чтобы замесить тесто. Месите до мягкости. Оставьте накрытым посудой на 30 минут.

2. Жир покрошите мелкими кусочками и добавьте в фарш. Мелко покрошите луковицы и чеснок, и тоже добавьте в фарш. Поперчите. Растворите 1 столовую ложку соли в 2 чашках теплой воды и перемешайте с остальными компонентами.

3. Разделите тесто на 4 равные части. Раскатайте тесто на посыпанной мукой доске или столе так, чтобы тесто было тонким, но не рвалось. Разрежьте получившийся пласт на полосы примерно 10 см шириной. Полосы нарежьте на квадраты со сторонами около 10 см. Положите по столовой ложке фарша. Два противоположных угла квадрата соедините вместе над начинкой и крепко защипите. Проделайте то же самое с двумя остальными углами. Получившиеся “ушки” соедините попарно с одной и другой стороны.

4. Получившиеся манты положите в подготовленные лотки так, чтобы они не касались друг друга (иначе изделия могут слипнуться). Варите на пару 40-50 минут. 

Приготовленные таким образом манты затем могут быть запечены или пожарены. Подавать блюдо с разведенным уксусом.