National Cuisines of Kyrgyzstan
rufr
Gallery of Recipes

OROMO

Variations of this dish of unleavened dough with different fillings can be found amongst many of the world’s peoples. In Kyrgyz kitchen the filling is traditionally meat with vegetables – mostly onions, both cultivated and wild varieties. In the South of the country greenery, (spices and herbs), are used more widely, and Pumpkin, (which is used widely in pelmeni, Manty, Oromo, meat and other dishes).

Oromo could be a good alternative for vegetarian or other special diets – since it is steamed and the fillings can be simply vegetables rather than meat. Oromo can be served with a variety of sauces made from fresh tomato puree with spices, airan (yogurt or sour milk) mixed with finely chopped greens and different spices.

Ingredients: 

For the dough: Flour – 500 g; water – 200 ml; eggs – 1; salt – 1 teaspoonful

For the filling:Meat, (lamb) – 300 g; onions – 3, medium sized; black pepper – half a teaspoonful; salt – 10 g.

According to taste, it is possible to add finely cut pumpkin and / or potatoes

Serves 4 people.

Preparation:

Step 1. Dissolve the salt in warm water. Add the flour and egg and mix into a soft dough. Leave to stand for 30 minutes under a cloth, (or place into a plastic bag).

 

 

 

 

Step 2. Dice the meat and onion. Put them into a dish and add salt and pepper. At this point it is possible to add 50 ml of water.

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3. Roll the dough to a thickness of about 2-3 mm. Lay the filling on the rolled dough and spread across the surface. Roll the dough into a roulette, (a roll like a Swiss Roll).

 

 

 

 

Step 4. Brush the steamer with oil, (see the photograph). Lay the roulette in the steamer, carefully bending it into a circle so that the filling does not fall out. Cover with a lid and place on the heat to boil the water. Steam for 30-40 minutes. When ready, place onto a dish and cut into pieces. Serve hot.

Национальные кухни Кыргызстана
enfr
Галерея рецептов

ОРОМО

Вариации блюд из пресного теста с различной начинкой встречаются у многих народов мира. В кыргызской кухне из начинок приоритет традиционно отдается мясу, из овощей – чаще всего репчатому луку и его диким видам. На юге страны используется больше зелени, пряностей и трав, почетом пользуется тыква (ее кладут в суп, пельмени, манты, оромо, едят с мясом и приготовляют как самостоятельное блюдо).
Предлагаемое ниже блюдо “оромо” может стать хорошей альтернативой для вегетарианцев и сторонников диетического питания – поскольку варится на пару и может начиняться овощной смесью без мяса. К оромо иногда подают разнообразные соусы, от растертых в пюре свежих помидоров со специями до айрана (кислого молока), смешанного с мелконарезанной зеленью нескольких видов.

Ингредиенты:

Для теста: Мука высшего сорта – 500 г; вода – 200 мл; яйцо – 1 шт.; соль – 1 чайная ложка.

Для фарша: Мясо (баранина) – 300 г; репчатый лук – 3 луковицы среднего размера; черный молотый перец – пол-чайной ложки; соль – 10 г.

По желанию в фарш можно также добавить мелкорубленую тыкву и / или картофель.

Рассчитано на 4 персоны.

Приготовление:

Этап 1. В теплой воде растворить соль. Добавить муку и яйцо, замесить мягкое тесто. Оставить тесто на 20 минут под полотняной салфеткой или кухонным полотенцем (либо положить его в пластиковый пакет).

 

 

 

 

Этап 2. Мясо и лук мелко нарезать. Сложить в одну посуду, посолить, поперчить. Можно в эту смесь добавить 50 мл воды.

 

 

 

 

 

Этап 3. Тесто раскатать в пласт толщиной в 2-3 мм. Фарш выложить на раскатанное тесто и равномерно распределить по его поверхности, затем свернуть рулетом.

 

 

 

 

Этап 4. Каскан (см. фотографию) смазать растительным маслом. Подготовленные рулеты осторожно переложить в каскан и уложить по окружности, следя за тем, чтобы содержимое не высыпалось. Касканы накрыть крышкой, поставить на кастрюлю с кипящей водой, варить на пару 30-40 минут. Готовое оромо выложить на блюдо, разрезать на порционные куски. Подавать горячим.