National Cuisines of Kyrgyzstan
rufr
Gallery of Recipes

KATTAMA

Kattama is one of the few examples of layered pastry dough in traditional Kyrgyz cuisine. Depending on the chef’s preferences it can be fried in oil or roasted in an oven. The number of onions used also depends on the taste of the chef. Products made from flour are mainly consumed with tea. Tea is one of the most popular drinks and in summer the Kyrgyz prefer green tea (kyok chiai).

Ingredients: Flour – 500 g; water – 200 ml; dry yeast – 1 tablespoonful; salt – 1 teaspoonful; butter – 100 g; onions – 2-3 medium sized; vegetable oil for cooking – 3-4 tablespoonfuls.

Serves 4 people.

Preparation:

 

 

Step 1. Dissolve the salt in warm water and blend in the yeast and flour, mixing well into a dough. Stand in a warm place for one-and-a-half to two hours to rise. During this time, roll the dough two or three times.

 

 

 

 

Step 2. Peel the onions, cut them in half and slice into semicircles. Melt the butter in a frying pan or small saucepan. Fry the finely cut unions in the butter until they are a golden colour.

 

 

 

 

Step 3. Roll the dough to a thickness of 2-3 mm. Spread the fried onion into an even layer on the surface of the dough. Cover the mixture by rolling the dough into a roulette, (a roll, like a Swiss Roll), and cut into pieces.

 

 

 

 

Step 4. Press each of the rolls, as shown in the photographs, and place onto a lepyoshka, (a circular flat bread with a diameter of about 15 cm and thickness of about 5 cm).

 

 

 

 

 

Step 5. Pour the vegetable oil into a frying pan and heat to about 60-70° C. Fry each of the lepyoshka in the heated oil on both sides to a toasted crust. Alternatively, they can be placed in the middle of a hot oven, (175° C), for about 20-25 minutes.

Национальные кухни Кыргызстана
enfr
Галерея рецептов

КАТТАМА

Каттама представляет собой один из немногих примеров использования слоеного теста в народной кыргызской кухне. В зависимости от предпочтений ее жарят в масле или пекут. Количество добавляемого лука также зависит от вкуса. Мучные изделия употребляют главным образом с чаем. Чай принадлежит к числу самых популярных напитков у кыргызов, причем летом в Кыргызстане предпочитают зеленый чай (кёк чай).

Ингредиенты: Мука высшего сорта – 500 г; вода – 200 мл; дрожжи сухие – 1 столовая ложка; соль – 1 чайная ложка; масло сливочное – 100 г; репчатый лук – 2-3 луковицы среднего размера; масло растительное для жарки – 3-4 столовые ложки.

Рассчитано на 4 персоны.

Приготовление:

 

 

Этап 1. В теплой воде растворяют соль, туда же добавляют дрожжи и муку, замешивают крутое тесто. Оставляют его в теплом месте на 1,5-2 часа, пока не поднимется. За это время поднимающееся тесто надо 2-3 раза обмять.

 

 

 

 

Этап 2. Очищенные луковицы нарезать полукольцами. Полукольца, в свою очередь, мелко порубить. Сливочное масло положить на сковороду или в небольшую кастрюлю и растопить. В растопленное масло положить мелконарезанный лук и пассеровать до золотистого цвета.

 

 

 

 

Этап 3. Готовое тесто раскатать в пласт толщиной в 2-3 мм. На пласт выкладывают спасерованный лук и равномерно распределяют рукой или кистью по поверхности теста. Покрытый этой смесью пласт сворачивают рулетом. Рулет нарезают на куски.

 

 

 

 

Этап 4. Каждый кусок рулета свернуть так, как показано на фотографии. Раскатать на лепешки диаметром около 15 см и толщиной около 5 см.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Этап 5. На сковороду налить растительное масло и нагреть его до температуры примерно 60-70° С. Каждую лепешку обжарить в нагретом масле с обеих сторон до появления румяной корочки. Либо лепешки можно выпечь в духовом шкафу, разогретом до 175° С (время выпекания примерно 20-25 минут).

КОШКОН МАЙ